Managing Risk?

When I finished my last post I thought I knew where I wanted to take things next.

But after a few weeks I was struggling with knowing how to keep things positive whilst addressing the very real issues we will face as the Day of the Lord comes nearer.

But even then I didn’t think things would have escalated to this point of global crisis quite as quickly as they have done!

I’m writing this in blazing sunshine as we enjoy our first tentative days of spring in the UK, whilst under lockdown with two family members with underlying health issues. My endless chronic health problems do not ironically make me vulnerable but I’m stuck in for their sake.

Anyhow.

I often preach sermons in my head.

Do you ever do that?

It’s part of my writing gift to try things out in my head, but also part of my prophetic, future-orientated nature too and it helps when I’m actually preaching for real.

This morning the phrase ‘Jesus – Wild & Mean’ jumped out at me from a book title my husband is reading. I started to preach to myself a long list of all the things that Jesus is – kind, merciful, good, loving, gracious, risk-taker, healer, king, etc. but the list finished up with ‘the one thing he isn’t though is SAFE…He is the Lion of Judah you know!’

And here I am playing ‘safe’ to protect my family. Whilst other, healthier kind souls take the risks on our behalf.

Years ago ‘risk’ was my middle name. I thrived on it!

Woman-On-A-Cliff

It took me all over the world.

It provided endless adventures with Jesus, wild and free.

It saw me seeing Him do mighty and wonderful things through … ME!

The adrenaline buzz of the anointing was life-giving and unbelievably wonderful, all the more so because it was beyond my control and a privilege.

I was running with others who lived the same way, which in itself was a joy. Iron sharpening iron, even though at times uncomfortable (often painfully so) it was exhilarating as Jesus went before us and shaping us as we went. We ‘loved not our lives even unto death’ and there were some who paid even that price too through sudden illness or accident.

Long story short, marriage and family, though hugely rewarding in themselves, came at great cost and my life has become inarguably smaller.

So what am I doing here?! On the safe receiving end of a wonderful community spirit that is bringing essentials to our home, enjoying the chance to take a breath and catch up from our normal busy routine while the whole world burns and implodes with the impact of a pandemic, climate change, and looming economic disaster?

That’s for me to consider before Him, I don’t feel shame or guilt, but I do need to double-check that following good Government advice is in line with his will for ME!

And, if I may be so bold to say so, so do YOU!

Stay well, stay close to Him but don’t necessarily stay safe!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.